redheaded

Quote

“I never hoped to see such a site as that again, Mr. Holmes. From north, south, east, and west every man who had a shade of red in his hair had tramped into the city to answer the advertisement. Fleet Street was choked with red-headed folk.…” 

      The Red-Headed League, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle  1891

Artist Statement

I knew I had to include one of the most fascinating characters ever created.  I read through the collected stories to find my Sherlock Holmes favorite.  Going from one to the next made me realize how eagerly people must have been awaiting the next serialized edition – much like Dickens (ah, which Dickens to include?).  I grew up with Holmes.  We had the collected works in the house as a kid.  Along with many other collections, Perry Mason, Rover Boys, Tarzan, Hardy Boys, Tom Swift.  I would read and reread these familiar books.  And it is always a pleasure to return to these worlds.  I decided on the Red-Headed League because of the vibrant pictorial sense I remembered as a kid.  I always had pictured a dreary sooty London being invaded by hundreds, thousands of red haired individuals to answer an advertisement.  London had always seemed as mysterious to me as “Holmes”. 

February 2014

Leave a Reply

