hamlet

Quote

Act 5, Scene 1

“Hamlet – Let me see. [Takes the skull.] Alas, poor Yurick! I knew him, Horatio. A fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy. He hath borne me on his back a thousand times. And now how abhorred in my imagination it is!”          Hamlet, William Shakespeare 1603

Artist Statement

I just had to.  I couldn’t ignore Shakespeare.  After all, he transcends genres and language.  So now we have my best novels and Shakespeare.  Oh well, he belongs.  His language is so fun to read and puzzle over.  He could easily garner five of my top paintings, but where to go next?  Lear?  Macbeth?  Romeo?  We’ll see.  Hamlet is great fun to read although the story is fairly brutal.  I used to travel with a small collected plays of Shakespeare, just in case.  Interestingly enough, so did my daughter Molly as she traveled through high school life.  I know, I know.  Painting “alas poor Yorick” is pretty obvious.  But even though it’s famous, it doesn’t make it less of a masterpiece.  I was working for the scene, the royalty, the battlements in the background, and of course the mist hiding the ghosts – real and imagined.                                                        April 2014

Leave a Reply

