catcher

Quote

“…and then I put on this hat that I’d bought in New York that morning. It was this red hunting hat, with one of those very, very long peaks.”

“My brother Allie had this left handed fielder’s mitt. He was left-handed. The thing that was descriptive about it, though,was that he had poems written all over the fingers and the pocket and everywhere.”

                         The Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger 1945

Artist Statement

I’ve heard numerous friends say that they loved this book in high school, but that it was not nearly as impressive as they aged.  I still love it.  Perhaps that whole maturity thing bypassed me.  Circumstances change in life.  I don’t think everyone is a phony anymore, but Holden’s feelings and interactions remain so true.  Traveling with no clear plan.  Fed up with school.  I think most of us have been there and that’s why this resonates with so many people.  I hitchhiked from Colorado to New York City wearing a cowboy hat in lieu of a hunting cap.  I ended up walking across a bridge into NYC when I was accosted by Jesus and his little henchman  at gunpoint.  They insisted on my backpack, “He’s Jesus, do what he wants.”  Nobody had guns back then and I’m not sure I believed it was even real.  But I argued, it got weird, weirder, and I finally shrugged my backpack back on and walked on – waiting for a bullet in my calf.  Wondering if I would live if I jumped over the side of the bridge.  I relate to Holden’s NYC and crazies.  I started with Holden’s hunting cap and his brother’s mitt with the poems scribbled on it, perched on a table.  I liked the security of that strange hat.  But it seemed a little too calm for this chaotic tale.  I took the hat, book, table, mitt, New York, the hotel room and distorted it into a cubist type representation to better capture the mood of this book.  Inside/ outside.  High school time is tough enough,

I went to three different ones.                               May 2014

Leave a Reply

