tokillabird

Quote

“Our biggest prize appeared 4 days later. It was a pocket watch that wouldn’t run, on a chain with an aluminum knife.”

                       To Kill A Mockingbird, Harper Lee 1960

Artist Statement

A text from my niece, they were reading To Kill a Mockingbird and she had to dissect the book for point of view, themes, conflict, etc.  Ah, to be back in high school when this was drudgery work.  I remembered Boo Radley from high school.  The conflicts of course.  The point of view and themes were a little fuzzy.  But reading again without a teacher expecting something from me was enjoyable.  The looming Boo Radley was still there – always looming.  Growing up in a different time of imagination that I remember all so well.   Always outside, making up games, daring each other to do the next stupid thing, scaring each other.  Days just flowing into each other as the games and dares progressed over the summer.  And Boo Radley leaving treasures in the tree.  I always left little trinkets, stones, coins in hiding places in the woods where I grew up.  I always had a cigar box (still do) to keep treasures in.  I put my idea of a treasure chest together with Scout and Jem’s delight in finding their mysterious gifts.  The fact that I still have a box to keep my valuable items in, speaks to the idea of adult vs childhood and the games that were played and the adult vs child behavior displayed in this book.  So, there’s my point of view, Jessie.         August 2014

Leave a Reply

