donQ

Quote

“Saying this, he gave spurs to his steed Rocinante, without paying any heed to Sancho’s warning that these were truly windmills and not giants that he was riding forthe to attack.”

                      Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes 1605

Artist Statement

I kept this book by the bed.  I would read the various adventures at night and I think I had some pretty obscure dreams during this time.  Another book that I must have read earlier, but so much of it was new that I think it may have been an abridged or children’s version.  The real version is a treat.  Not really a kid’s book.  Who wouldn’t want the world to be the way you choose to view it.  And the more you read, the more injustice you perceive in the world that needs to be reckoned with.  At least my household didn’t burn all my books and try to convince me that I had just been dreaming (yet).  Tilting at the windmills of course.  This is one that I just had to go with one of the most popular scenes.  The obscurity of the windmills/giants captures the essence of this book.  What is real, what is imagined?  The obscurity as Alonso Quixano traverses the fine line separating the real and the imagined world.         January 2015

Leave a Reply

